Dev Retro 2022

Dev Retro 2022

'Years leave behind but learnings stay ahead!'

Summarizing my tech journey of 2022.

I entered in 4th semester of my Engineering degree in Computer Science in the year 2022. It was me juggling between the technologies and learning and exploring different techs along the way...

In this blog, I would break down my year-long journey into 4 parts (describing 3 months in each part).

Part 1:(Jan-Feb-March)

I had a very basic knowledge of Machine learning and statistics. These 3 months gave me an amazing opportunity to explore more and deep dive into it. I learned various ML algorithms and revised my previous concepts. I did a few mini-projects, which included Creditcard fraud detection and Supermarket sales prediction.

To my surprise! I got selected for an internship opportunity at King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang(KMITL) as a Student Intern in research in March. I worked with a team of 6 people on a project assigned by them for a month. It was a wonderful experience for me and I learned new things along the way. We also published a report on the project and submitted it to the university.

Part 2:(April-May-June)

It was the time when I started revising the basics of HTML and CSS and did a few hands-on projects on them. Then I started with Javascript. I was also learning MATLAB software for the simulation of robots. I was in Team Cipher-the official Robotics team of my college. We prepare for ABU(Asia-Pacific Robot Contest)which is an international level competition. For the same, we first have to clear DD Roboccon, which is the national-level competition. So for the same, I was working in the MATLAB team for the navigation, simulation, and testing part.

So basically, I was doing Web development and MATLAB parallelly. This was quite difficult to handle along with the curricular activities. And also with the other college activities(Me being the President of the Entrepreneurship Development Cell of my college - So also need to look after the proper functioning of the Cell).

Part 3:(July-August-September)

This was around the time when we went for the Finals of DD Roboccon. To give you a little jist of it, DD Roboccon itself contains 3 rounds:

Round 1: Documentation submission of the robot model.

Round 2: Prototype development and submission.

Round 3: Final robot building and the gameplay with the opponent team.

So, by this time, we cleared both rounds 1 and 2, now got selected for round 3. So here the tough task starts. It was like spending much of the time with the team, training and testing the robot. And the day arrived, when we, as a team visited the campus of IIT Delhi and participated in the Finals. We won 1 out of 2 matches. This ended up with securing AIR(All India Rank) 11th. To be honest, it was really a wonderful experience for me to actually attend that and the learning through it was outstanding.

Part 4: (October-November-December)

Here comes those last 3 months of the year, which I dedicated to web development again. I practiced web dev in the month of October and November. Finally, I got an offer letter for the internship from Oasis Infobyte for the month of December. The internship was in web design and development. In that, I had to do 3 projects and maintain a GitHub repository for the same.

Also, I got an excellent opportunity to get the position of AI/ML associate lead in Google Developers Students Club of my college. We had organized a technical seminar named 'Tech I/O'. There were 3 speakers. One from the ML domain, the other talking about placements opportunities, and the latter one about the importance of Data Structures and Algorithms and how to master it. The wonderful event in which I was the organizing team member. It was really a great experience for me and I got to know tons of new things.

I also got a golden opportunity to attend DevFest Pune 2022. It was a large scale and amazing event. I got to network with lots of tech startup founders. It was an all-in-one experience. Never forget to mention the delicious cusines!! It was a wonderful event wherein I met lots of amazing folks, students as well as working professionals and also the CEO's of tech startups. Won some exciting goodies by winning the challenges at the booths. Also, the cherry on the cake was to win the JetBrains challenge and win the official Jetbrains merchandise.

I also started working on my weakness i.e DSA. I tried to give atleast 20-30 mins of my day to it and tried to be consistent.

This brings me to the end of my blog! I would like to thank Syed Fazle Rahman for this amazing challenge #DevRetro2022. This gave me an amazing opportunity to look back and jot down what I did throughout the year in brief. I would say for a developer, each day is challenging and each days brings in a new experience. So this was really a very short story of my developer journey of 2022.

If you like my content then do like and share it with your friends. Also do subscribe to my newsletter to never miss any new blog from me!

I hope you found it insightful...

Do like, share, and let your friends also know about this...

Read my other blogs:

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Preksha Thakkar by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!